South Africa Enjoy 206-Run Win on Ireland in Benoni

September 26 21:53 2016

saNew Delhi, Monday, September 26 – Ireland faced a humiliating defeat at the hands of Proteas on their tour of South Africa a day ago at Willowmoore Park, Benoni. South Africa squad comprised Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Temba Bavuma, Jean-Paul Duminy, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Aaron Phangiso, Wayne Parnell and Andile Phehlukwayo. Rilee Rossouw was the player to sit on bench.

The visiting squad consisted of Gary Wilson, Sean Terry, Stuart Poynter, John Anderson, Paul Stirling, Kevin O’Brien, Tim Murtagh, George Dockrell, Craig Young, Peter Chase and William Porterfield. Those in extras were Niall O’Brien, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy and Ed Joyce. Ireland skipper Porterfield won the toss and elected to bowl first. However, his team would regret the decision for a long time given that Proteas ended up scoring 354 runs for the loss of five wickets in 50 overs.

The opening batsmen scored 159 runs together. First wicket was lost on the final bowl of 24th over when de Kock was dismissed by Kevin O’Brien at a score of 82 attained in 66 balls, together with eight 4s and two sixes. Craig Young got wicket of South African skipper Faf du Plessis, who scored 21 runs in 31 balls (4 x 1). Temba Bavuma, nonetheless, hit a brilliant ton. When his wicket was earned by Craig Young, the home side was at a strong side. 113 runs from him in 123 balls included 13 4s and a six. David Miller wicket to Kevin O’Brien at 14 runs, which included a couple of boundaries, showed some hope to Ireland of bouncing back but soon that was vanished away by Jean-Paul Duminy, who played a not out knock 52 runs in 43 balls, together with four 4s and a six.

Farhaan Behardien lost his wicket to Craig Young on the final ball of the game but that did not affect Proteas’ performance. Power-packed fifty by Behardien in 22 balls consisted of three sixes and fours. A grand total of 354 runs was big enough for the rivals to chase down. Dwaine Pretorius, Parnell, Phehlukwayo, Rabada and Phangiso did not bat. The start under pressure wasn’t good for the rivals given the fact that William Porterfield was lbw by Rabada on a naught. John Anderson was sent back to the dressing room by Parnell at a score of 5 off 12 balls. Expectations were now soaring from Ireland wicket-keeper Gary Wilson but Dwaine Pretorius did not let him shine, ending his stint at 3 runs.

Paul Stirling, on the other hand, showed some good display by scoring 40 runs in 49 balls, together with four 4s. Phangiso got his wicket, taking away any possibility of winning, which was perhaps never there for Ireland thanks to poor start. Sean Terry succumbed to Parnell at a score of 16, which consisted of three fours. Stuart Poynter lost his wicket to Duminy at a score of 8 (4 x 1). George Dockrell scored 16 runs of 22 balls, along with two 4s before being dismissed by Phangiso. Kevin O’Brien was dismissed by Duminy when trying to achieve runs in speed. His knock of 41 runs came in 36 balls and was being studded with seven 4s.

Craig Young and Peter Chase’s wicket went into the pocket of Duminy. They both were out for a duck. Tim Murtagh   was not out at a score of 13 (4 x 2). Duminy was the leading wicket-taker dismissing four batsmen. Parnell and Phangiso got two wickets each, while Rabada and Pretorius ended up with one wicket apiece. In the mandatory powerplay, Ireland scored 40 runs, while South Africa 69 runs. In 30.5 overs, Ireland were all-out at 148 runs, giving Proteas the chance to enjoy a humongous win of 206 runs.