New Zealand Hammer India in 4th ODI by 19 Runs

October 27 14:19 2016

neeshamNew Delhi, Thursday, October 27 – The 5-match One Day International series between Indian and New Zealand entered into an interesting phase yesterday as the latter beat former amazingly by 19 runs, getting success in the objective of keeping their hopes alive in the tournament. JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi hosted the game between the two countries. The Kiwis were eagerly eying a win this time. And the guests did the same by spreading water on the dream of India, who were keen to claim series with one match yet to go.

Here is to mention that India have won the 3-match Test series by 3-0. The hosts kicked off the ODI tournament by pocketing a victory. But New Zealand bounced back from a situation when the hosts were getting confident by winning the first and third ODIs by 6 wickets and 7 wickets, respectively. Being a winner in a do or die match made the Black Caps come on track at the right time, leaving the winner of the ODI series get decided in the last match that is to take place after a couple of days at Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam. Winning the contest a day ago was never easy when playing in Indian conditions as the crowd cheers louder here for the home squad. The visiting squad was positive from earlier and pressure was definitely not on them.

This time New Zealand won the toss and decided to bat. The first good thing happened was that Kiwis were able to make a decision on Wednesday and proved that it was a good toss to win. Mahendra Singh Dhoni led a side that had Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Amit Mishra, Axar Patel, Dhawal Kulkarni and Umesh Yadav. Those to sit on bench were Mandeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah and Jayant Yadav. The Kiwis went with Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson, BJ Watling, Mitchell Santner, Ross Taylor, James Neesham, Ross Taylor, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Ross Taylor, Ish Sodhi and Anton Devcich in hope to be successful in their objective. Those in extras were Matt Henry, Doug Bracewell, Luke Ronchi and Corey Anderson.

The invitation to field did not come up with good results for the rivals in the beginning since New Zealand openers built a partnership of 96 runs, making Indian bowlers strive for wickets. Martin Guptill played an innings of 72 runs off 84 balls, together with 12 boundaries. He was able to pull off at a time when his team needed such strong opening to stay in the game. Tom Latham was impressive too once again. Axar brought breakthrough for the team when Rahane took a catch that gave India a chance to come back in the game. Latham had to go back at a score of 39 off 40 balls (4 x 4). Kane Williamson – the New Zealand captain – was confident too. With Guptill, he weaved a partnership of 42 runs. The opener was dismissed in the first ball of the 26th over when bowling change did a trick and Hardik Pandya bowled a delivery that got an edge of Guptill’s bat and went into the hands of Dhoni.

The home squad heaved a sigh of relief as it was a major wicket. Williamson was out at a score of 41 off 59 balls, together with four 4s. Mishra was the man who brought wicket for India this time. By the time Ross Taylor was on the crease, things were yet under control. But no big partnership was built after dismissal of the New Zealand skipper. James Neesham succumbed to Mishra at a score of 6 (4 x 1). The wicketkeeper-batsman BJ Watling was dismissed by Kulkarni at a score of 14, together with a four. Taylor was unfortunate to be a run out victim. Kulkarni was quick in collecting the ball and Dhoni was fast in hitting the stumps before the batsman was safely inside the crease. 35 runs off 58 balls consisted of a boundary.

The 7th wicket fell in the form of Anton Devcich who was dismissed by Umesh at a score of 11. Mitchell Santner was not out at 17 runs facing 13 balls (4 x 1) and Tim Southee was unbeaten at 9 runs. His innings also included a boundary. New Zealand did not succeed to make their innings get bigger despite staring on a strong note but that proved sufficient as India fell short of some runs to attain the target. Dhoni and Co restricted the host at a score of 260 runs in 50 overs for the loss of seven wickets. For another time, they managed to put a challenging total. Frequent shots were hit in the beginning that made Indian fielders do a lot of running of the field. 16 extras were bowled by Indian bowling lineup. Excellence of New Zealand batting can be understood from the fact that 80 runs were totaled in the mandatory powerplay. Mishra got two wickets, Yadav, Pandya, Kulkarni and Patel earned one wicket each, while Jadhav did not get any wicket but bowled well.

A robust start was expected from Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma the moment two arrived on the crease. However Sharma looked in some hurry for another time. He struck two 4s but could not make his stint long and played a wrong shot in the over of Southee. Watling was sharp in taking the catch on time, sending Sharma back to the dressing room at a score of 11. Some good show was displayed by the opener and Virat Kohli. They two together accumulated 79 runs, letting India recover from the early jolt. But Ish Sodhi broke the partnership, making Kohli depart at 45 runs what he earned facing 51 balls. His innings included two 4s and a six. Rahane was next to leave post scoring 57 runs in 70 balls. His innings was studded with five boundaries and six. His dismissal was thanks to a wonderful delivery by Neesham in good line and length.

Expectations were high when Dhoni arrived as he was playing in the home conditions but an excellent ball by Neesham made him out, leaving a pin drop silence amid the fans. The Ranchi stadium was jam-packed but dismissal of Dhoni took his fans by surprise. 11 runs were the contributions from him. Axar Patel batted well and stayed on the pitch for as long as possible. But wickets began to fall from other end since Manish Pandey was out by Southee at a score of 12 (4 x 2) and Kedar Jadhav was lbw by Southee on a naught.  It was anticipated that Hardik Pandya will make things better to a certain extent. Santner got his wicket, letting him go back to the pavilion on 9 runs. Amit Mishra was run out due to mutual efforts of Santner and Watling. 14 runs, along with a four, were his score.

Indian hopes began to sink the moment Patel succumbed to Boult post scoring 38 runs in 40 balls, along with three boundaries and a six. Dhawal Kulkarni and Umesh Yadav tried their level best to take India close to the target as much as possible. Strikes were changed as well, to keep on attaining runs and shrug off the pressure. Yadav was taking all possible chance to go for a long shot, which was actually the need of time. But since only a wicket was in hand, pressure was massive on India. Ross Taylor took his catch in Boult’s over. Yadav departed at a score of 7.

Kulkari’s knock comprised two fours and a six was he was not out at 25 runs. With the final wicket, New Zealand were happy to produce 50-50 chances of winning the ODI series. India were all-out in 48.4 overs at 241 runs. Guptill was declared Man of the Match. Pitch conditions were well utilized by the visitors. Not losing the faith till last kept them going in the game, what they won further. None of the Indian played any big innings, except Rahane and Kohli. Losing wickets at different time intervals cost them the match. Pressure was released at some time, while it was back the other moment. Now, the team that tastes the victory in 5th ODI will be the series’ winner.